Celebrating “Burying Celtic Musicians Week”

Posted on October 28, 2009

9


Is 104 F high? For a temperature, I mean.

For a human temperature.

Did you know that this week is Intersession Week?

What a dumb name. “Intersession Week.” As in “inter,” meaning “to bury,” and “session,” meaning “a Celtic music jam.”

The eighth week of the semester is called “Intersession Week” and there are no classes. Apparently because we’re supposed to bury Celtic musicians or something.

For me, it was to be the week during which I could get caught up on stuff and maybe even take my wife out to a move. I’m thinking The Vampire’s Apprentice. Or maybe The Men Who Stare at Goats. I read the book a few years ago. Actually, I read both books a few years ago: The Vampire’s Apprentice and The Men Who Stare at Goats.

Anyway, I was going to do stuff and see stuff this week.

Instead, I’m sick.

I’ve been trying to deny the fact, but reality keeps interfering. The only way I can function at all (and by “function” I mean standing up and walking across the room) is by taking copious amounts of Tylenol 1. Now there’s nothing wrong with taking copious amounts of Tylenol 1. It has a lot of codeine and codeine was given to Mankind by God as a compensation for giving us the ability to feel pain. So Tylenol 1 is good. Tylenol 3 is better, but you need a prescription for that.

The only drawback to taking copious amounts of Tylenol 1 is that you tend to forget what you were supposed to be doing.

Unless that’s caused by the fever.

Is 104 F high? For a temperature, I mean.

For a human temperature.

Did you know that this week is “Intersession Week”? That’s a dumb name.

Apparently even Kindergarten kids get Intersession Week — at least according to Mrs. Abraham’s Ant Pile. That’s a blog Mrs. Abraham runs for her Kindergarten class. So far, Mrs. Abraham’s class has learned the letters MmSsTtRrPp,Cc, and Aa. When they were learning about the letter Aa they baked an apple pie. Mrs. Abraham’s kindergarten class sounds like it’s a lot of fun. There’s also a picture of Mrs. Abraham on the site. She’s very cute. I bet all her students are in love with her. Probably half the staff, too.

Whatever I have, it isn’t the flu. I refuse to have the flu. I especially refuse to have the Swine Flu. Not going to happen. Every night on the news there are more apocalyptic warnings about the Swine Flu. I’ve gone through too many apocalypses in my life to pay much attention. First there was the Hong Kong Flu in the early ’70s, and then in the mid ’70s there was our first run-in with the Swine Flu. Everyone had to get vaccinations. Very scary. More people died of the vaccinations than of the Swine Flu itself. And then there was the Bird Flu, and West Nile something or other. Plus, back in the ’70s we were told we were going to run out of food by the year 2000. I guess we’re all starving now.

The point is, I don’t have the Swine Flu.

I do have a lot of Tylenol 1, though. Good stuff.

Is 104 F high?

You should check out Mrs. Abraham’s blog for her Kindergarten class. Last week they made edible spiders from Oreos, pretzels, and red hots.

Oh — you know what I’m going to do? I’m going to go take some Tylenol 1. And then I’m going to stare at goats.

Wait. Does that sound right?