St. Catharines traffic signals: crazy or insane. Discuss.

Posted on January 21, 2011

7


This is just my latest piece for the Standard. I’m sneaking it in as a blog post because I’ve not been posting much lately (and by “much,” or course, I mean “at all”).

They changed my original title. I understand why, but I decided to sneak it back in here as the title of the post. Here’s what actually appeared.

No sense to city’s traffic signals.

It’s been a year now, and I’m still trying to figure out the St. Catharines’ traffic signals.

Most sources credit J.P. Knight with inventing the traffic signal in 1868. Personally, I’d push it back to 1775 and give the honour to Paul Revere ( “One if by land; two if by sea”).

Admittedly, Paul’s signal didn’t so much direct traffic as describe it. Still. There was “traffic” (British troops), and there were “signals” (lanterns). So, “traffic signals.”

What? That’s fair.

Anyhow, the purpose of traffic signals (as with time) is to prevent everything from happening at once.

To this end, a certain consistency is required. [Cont.]

