I scribble good

Posted on October 11, 2009

21


See -- its a real award, just like the big kids get.

See -- it's a real award, just like the big kids get.

During the most hectic new semester I’ve had in several years, it seems that I won a Superior Scribbler Award.

Twice. I won it twice.

At this rate, I’m going to have to set up a special page just for awards. Counting this one, I now have two.

Or three, if you count the Superior Scribbler Award twice.

Of course, blog awards aren’t quite like other awards. Blog awards require the receiver to put in some work. Winners of the Meme Award, for instance, must follow it up with a blog exposing seven of their innermost thoughts and pass the award on to seven other bloggers.

The Superior Scribbler Award is the brainchild of the Scholastic Scribe, a graduate of the Missouri School of Journalism which she describes as “the ‘Harvard,’ if you will, of Ink-Stained Wretches Everywhere.” Following a career in the newspaper business, she now teaches a high school journalism course.

For her 200th post on October 18, 2008, (called “200: This Bling’s For You“), Scholastic Scribe established the Superior Scribbler Award, the first of which went to Tara R. for her blog If Mom Says Okay. While we don’t know exactly which of Tara’s posts was responsible for the honour, her most recent post at the time I received the award (September 26) indicates that certain aspects of blogging life caught her by surprise.

Such as people reading her blog.

In “Under a Microscope,” she says:

I know there are people reading my blog who, if the truth be told, I really wished didn’t. (don’t worry D, it’s not you.)

And, I know there are harmless lurkers… I can spot you every now and then.

But, there are also stalkers. People hanging around to, I don’t know, find out stuff I would rather they didn’t.

This is her blog she’s talking about. Published on the Web. With no password needed. Open to God and everybody. I can’t help wondering if, when she started blogging, she expected that what she wrote would be hers and hers alone.

That is all my fault. I was under the mistaken impression that what I write here, is mine and mine alone. That I am free to be as free with my thoughts as I want. But, the Internet being what it is, that is a false sense of security.

Oh.

Just wait until she finds out the truth about Twitter. [Note: this situation is not quite the way I portrayed it. Please see Tara’s clarification in the comments.]

But back to the award.

Tara passed along the newly-created Superior Scribbler Award to five other writers, and since then it has been passed on to 1071 recipients (the 1071st being me). Some have resolutely normal names: Tracy (#763), who writes about children’s fiction; Geoff (#216), who believes the ancients lived close to nature and liked it; and Joanne (#956) who is “moving forward at half speed.” Others are more prone to exotic monikers: Dragon Wrangler (#773), who writes about his “encounters with dragons, demons, and other denizens”; phlegmfatale (#62), a “shoe-obsessed woman, her dog and her life”; and Barbara the Bad-Tempered Zombie (#107) who, judging by her name, sounds like someone that Quirky Loon should probably drop in on from time to time.

The Superior Scribbler Award appears to have only recently crossed the path of HBDC when it was awarded to Noname Dufus who promptly passed it along to Don (Beyond Left Field), Joel (Stuff and Nonsense), Joe (Crochety Old Man Yells at Cars), MikeWJ (Too Many Mornings), and me.

And then, because he felt sorry for me since I have few readers and even fewer awards, Mike sent it to me again.

Now it’s my turn.

Of course, with two of these awards, each requiring me to send it to five other bloggers, that means I have to send it on to, uh…two times five, carry the one…eleven bloggers.

Problem is, I barely get time to read more than three or four blogs on a good day, and lately the days have not been particularly good. Furthermore, most of the blogs I read are members of HBDC. I can’t give it to either Reforming Geek or Mad Science since they’ve each already got one.

So here’s what I’m going to do.

I’m going to go through the most recent posts of everyone on HBDC and give this award to those who have blogged on certain topics.

Topic One: Obama Wins the Nobel Appeasement Peace Prize.

Topic Two: People Who Have Recently Won An Award.

Topic Three: TV Pitch Men Named Vince Who Have Just Got Out of Jail.

Topic Four: Comparisons of Fred Astaire and Kanye West.

Topic Five: Clever Titles Which Involve Boiling Water and Used Car Salesmen.

Topic Five: People Whose Birthdays Fall Within This Week.

Topic Six: People Who Have Started Yet Another Blog Award.

Topic Seven: People Who Have Been Acknowledged by Adam Sandler Because They’re Really Good Writers.

So there you go.

And seriously, thanks to both Noname and MikeWJ for continuing to knock on my blog’s door even when I go away and ignore everyone for long periods of time.

And for all the winners, here’s what you have to do, according to the rules set forth by Scholastic Scribe:

  • Each Superior Scribbler must in turn pass The Award on to 5 most-deserving Bloggy Friends.
  • Each Superior Scribbler must link to the author & the name of the blog from whom he/she has received The Award.
  • Each Superior Scribbler must display The Award on his/her blog, and link to This Post, which explains The Award.
  • Each Blogger who wins The Superior Scribbler Award must visit this post and add his/her name to the Mr. Linky List. That way, we’ll be able to keep up-to-date on everyone who receives This Prestigious Honor!
  • Each Superior Scribbler must post these rules on his/her blog.
Posted in: • No category